Life in Kootenai County

Q: Where is Kootenai County located?
A: Kootenai County is situated in the panhandle of Northern Idaho. It is part of the Coeur d'Alene metro area, bordering with nearby Spokane, Washington to the east, and the state of Montana to west.

Q: What is special about Kootenai County?
A: Kootenai County, named for the Koontenai tribe, was established in 1864. The northern side of Lake Coeur d'Alene is home to the largest city in the Idaho panhandle, Coeur d'Alene, also called Lake City. The city was named for a local tribe, meaning "Heart of the Awl."

Q: What neighborhoods are in Kootenai County?
A: Harrison was originally the largest city on Lake Coeur d'Alene. Post Falls is known for its' lumber mill on the Spokane River, and Worley is situated on the Coeur d'Alene Indian Reservation. Other places in Kootenai County include Rathdrum, Athol, Fernan Lake Village, Hayden and Spirit Lake.

Q: What is there to do in Kootenai County?
A: The city of Coeur d'Alene borders the Coeur d'Alene National Forest, and it is close to the ski resorts Schweitzer Mountain and Silver Mountain. Lake Coeur d'Alene provides over one hundred miles of shoreline and beaches for recreational use, including the North Idaho Centennial Trail.

Coeur d'Alene Movers, Inc. 2010